Resolution in Support of Proposed Amendments to the Faculty Senate University Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion, University Course Review, and University Studies Committees

WHEREAS, the Faculty Senate Committee on Committees reviewed and considered amendments to the composition and term of the Faculty Senate University Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Faculty Senate Committee on Committees reviewed and considered amendments to the composition of the Faculty Senate University Course Review Committee, particularly in light of the sunsetting of Regulation 2-116; and

WHEREAS, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee has reviewed and considered amendments to the composition of the Faculty Senate University Studies Committee;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Faculty Senate of the University of Wyoming that Faculty Senate supports the adoption of the amendments recommended by the Faculty Senate Committee on Committees and Executive Committee, as reflected in the Appendix below.

Jeva & Sport almenholtz

Treva Sprout-Ahrenholtz

Secretary, Faculty Senate

6 May 2024

Appendix

Recommended Changes the Composition and Term of the Faculty Senate University Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion Committee

X.d. Composition

The Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion Committee shall consist of at least 16 members excluding the vice presidents, the deans, the associate and assistant deans, the directors, and the department or division heads/chairs. Two tenured faculty members shall be elected from each of the following six colleges: Agriculture, Life Sciences, and Natural Resources; Arts and Sciences; Business; Education; Engineering and Applied Physical Sciences; and Health Sciences; and Arts and Sciences; one from the College of Law; one non-tenure track faculty member on extended-term or fixed-term rolling contract faculty member elected from the Libraries; one non-tenure track faculty member on extended-term faculty member or fixed-term rolling contract elected from the American Heritage Center; and one faculty member from the Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources. The University Reappointment, Tenure and Promotion Committee has the authority to appoint one or more academic professional(s) additional non-tenure track faculty members to its committee. The Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs shall be an *ex officio* member. Members who have served a three-four-year term cannot succeed themselves. Replacements (temporary or permanent) shall be determined in the same manner as the original appointments.

Recommended Changes the Composition of the Faculty Senate University Course Review Committee

XII.a. Rationale

The University Course Review Committee is established to monitor and implement the University course review process as described in UW Regulation 2-116.

XII.b. Functions

When considering course additions, revisions or deletions to the University curriculum, the University Course Review Committee shall be responsible for ensuring that all of the requisite endorsements have been obtained (UW Regulation 2-116, Section II, Part E.), that the proposal does not present any unjustified duplication with other academic units, and that the request is consistent with the current University guidelines regarding courses. The University Course Review Committee is additionally charged with the development and maintenance of the Course Review Guidelines (see UW Regulation 2-116, Section III), and with the routine examination and maintenance of the Course Review Process itself.

XII.d. Composition

Each college will select its own representative along with an alternate. The School of Energy Resources and the Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources shall also each have a representative and alternate. If representation from any of these colleges units cannot be found, then the Committee on Committees is directed to select members in as representational a fashion as possible. The Chair of the University Studies Committee, the Chair of the Graduate Council, the Registrar and the Course Review Coordinator, the Dean of the Libraries, the Director of the American Heritage Center, School of Environment and Natural Resources, an ASUW representative, and the Coordinator of Community College Articulation shall be *ex officio* members without vote. The Chair is an *ex officio* member of the Academic Planning Committee and the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate.

Recommended Changes the Composition of the Faculty Senate University Studies Committee

XIII.c. Composition

The committee shall consist of 12 voting members. Each college has the opportunity to be represented on the committee, including the Libraries, the American Heritage Center, the Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources, and ASUW. A student designated by ASUW shall be a voting member. Each college or group will elect their own representatives, and these names will be forwarded to the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate for approval. If representatives from any of these groups cannot be found, then the Committee on Committees shall select members in as representative a fashion as possible. Faculty representatives shall serve staggered three- year terms. *Ex officio* members of the committee shall include: the First Year Seminar Coordinator and the Communications Coordinator; representatives from the offices of: the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Registrar, the Academic Planning Committee, the Deans' Council, Academic Advising, the Director of Transfer Relations, and the Wyoming community colleges. *Ex officio* members do not have a vote. Vice presidents, deans, associate and assistant deans, and directors shall not be eligible to serve on the committee.